Sisters of the Quilt: The Complete Trilogy by Cindy Woodsmall {Review}

I received this product free from Blogging for Books for the purpose of reviewing it. I received no other compensation for this review. The opinions expressed in this review are my personal, honest opinions. Your experience may vary. Please read my full disclosure policy for more details.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale. Any blessings we receive go to helping our homeschool and grocery budgets!

Sisters of the Quilt: The Complete Trilogy by Cindy Woodsmall {Review}Sisters of the Quilt: The Complete Trilogy by Cindy Woodsmall
Series: Sisters of the Quilt

Find the Author: Website, Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, Pinterest
Also by this author: Hope Crossing: The Complete Ada's House Trilogy, includes The Hope of Refuge, The Bridge of Peace, and The Harvest of Grace, The Hope of Refuge
ISBN: 0307729958
Genres: Amish Fiction
Published by WaterBrook Press on November 2nd 2010
Pages: 1008
Format: Paperback
Source: Blogging for Books
Find on Goodreads

Can Hannah find refuge, redemption, and a fresh beginning after her world is shattered? When the Heart CriesHer life among her Amish community brutally interrupted, seventeen-year-old Hannah Lapp faces questions neither family, nor fiancé, nor even faith can easily answer. The first book in the Sisters of the Quilt series, When the Heart Cries will ignite a broader understanding of others’ beliefs and a God-given strength to deal with pain we all experience. When the Morning ComesRejected by those she loves, Hannah Lapp leaves her Amish community and seeks refuge in the world outside, leaving her family and friends to wrestle with the painful truths that emerge in the wake of her disappearance. As she struggles to find her place in the confusing Englischer world, her community deals with the turbulent aftermath of her departure. When the Soul MendsHoping to help her sister, Hannah Lapp reluctantly returns to the Old Order Amish community she fled in disgrace more than two years earlier. When hidden truths are revealed about her former fiancé, she must choose whether to return to the Plain life or to the Englischer man who adores her in this captivating conclusion to the Sisters of the Quilt series. This three-in-one collection includes the entirety of the best-selling Sisters of the Quilt trilogy now at a new low price!


Read in February, 2011 — I own a copy

When the Heart Cries Read in November, 2007

My heart complete breaks and repairs through this book. This story is told giving perspective into many of the characters lives and it makes you look back on your own with perspective.

Imagine leading a plain, normal strict life, yet having a desire for a man you know will not receive approval in the eyes of your family your people and struggling to find a way. Then as everything looks like it will work out just find, you’re raped by a stranger and nobody believes you. Then when you finally accept the reality of a pregnancy, you lose that too. Only through the grace of God can life be repaired.

Usually I despise books that leave things wanting, but this book was perfect. It ended at just the right time and I look forward to reading a sequel When The Morning Comes.

When the Morning Comes Read in May, 2008

TALK ABOUT A CLIFF HANGER! Dudette, you can not just leave me hanging like this, I don’t know how I’m suppose to make it to September! Ugh!

This book was really great, better than the first, and I really enjoyed that one. There is real issues that are tough on life and hard, but there is goodness. There are more characters to fall in love with in this book and the personalities are so real and so great, that you do not know who to love more as a reader and feel just as confused as the character and then realize the things that you know that she/he doesn’t and your heart breaks for them, but you still do not know which would be better! I could not read this book fast enough to find out what happens and each part is really unexpected and fascinating. I earnestly cannot wait for the next book!

When the Soul Mends: A Novel Read in September, 2008

Wow. That is the main thought that I am left with after finishing this magnificent book. Cindy Woodsmall has done an amazing job with her debut series and I cannot wait to read more from this fabulous author. I enjoyed the first book and really was full of emotion for the characters. I cannot tell you how many times throughout the series I was brought to tears or screaming in anger when the characters would not for themselves.

When the Soul Mends is an incredible book about such depth with a vast amount of heart wrenching drama that is so real and so needed to be read. You could read this book alone, but I strongly suggest you start from the beginning, because only after going through When the Heart Cries to the When the Morning Comes can you really appreciate the beauty and fully healing affects of When the Soul Mends. Can you see how perfect these titles are?

I’m practically speechless, but I want to ramble about how great this book is. The characters are so real, as are their troubles and joys. Cindy really brings you into an Amish/Plain/Englisher world and shows the good, as well as the bad in all cases. After falling into their world in the first two novels and screaming for answers with the cliff hangers those two left me in, Cindy has answered everything in more depth and better than I ever could have imagined. I’m completely satisfied with this series and you can bet it is on my keeper shelf.

Sisters of the Quilt Review

Cindy Woodsmall is a New York Times best-selling author whose connection with the Amish community has been featured on ABC Nightline and on the front page of the Wall Street Journal. Her ability to authentically portray her characters comes from her real-life connections with Amish Mennonite and Old Order Amish families. Cindy lives in Georgia with her family. Visit her website at

SNEAK PEEK: Sisters of the Quilt (3-in-1) by Cindy Woodsmall


Can Hannah find refuge, redemption, and a fresh beginning after her world is shattered?

 Click here to download chapter one of Sisters of the Quilt.

The Sisters of the Quilt series is Amish fiction at its best and it’s now available in this 3-in-1 book! Follow Hannah’s gripping story in When the Heart Cries, When the Morning Comes, and When the Soul Mends.

Click here to download chapter one of Sisters of the Quilt.

About Cindy Woodsmall

CINDY WOODSMALL is a New York Times and CBA best-selling author of fifteen novels and one non-fiction book, Plain Wisdom. She is a former homeschooling parent who lives outside of Atlanta with her husband and enjoys spending her free time doting on her three grandchildren.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

(No spam, I promise. Just creative madness ramblings, reviews and life-stories, with quilting and cross stitch inspiration in between!)

About CherryBlossomMJ

The Creative Madness Mama also known as Margaret is a Christian Stay-at-home Mama, married to the Enginerd, Quilter, avid reader and book-a-holic. A book blogger for bunches of different publicists. She loves to share the latest and greatest about books coming out as well as her quilt and other crafty projects with some pictures of her eight-year-old AppleBlossom, three-year-old Almond Blossom (the Rascal boy!), six-year-old OrangeBlossom (the Princess), and newborn Mermaid Warrior in between. Plotting to be a homeschooler, she's a cloth diapering, breastfeeding, babywearing, list making mama full of a little creative and a lot of madness.