Otherworld Chronicles #2: The Seven Swords

The Invisible Tower
Otherworld Chronicles, #1
Genre: Juvenile Fiction / Legends, Myths, & Fables
Ages 8 to 12, Grades 5 And Up
Pages: 368 Jacketed Hardcover
Date Published: September 4th, 2012
Publisher: Harper

Ancient enemies, modern magic, and Arthurian legend collide in this fast-paced and thrilling tween trilogy, which Kirkus Reviews praised as “high-spirited and fun.”
Arthur-
In one week’s time you will come to me at the Invisible Tower. You are special, Arthur. I have been waiting so long for you.
Your humble servant,
-M

When this mysterious message appears in twelve-year-old Artie Kingfisher’s favorite video game, it leads him to a gaming store called the Invisible Tower-where a centuries-old wizard named Merlin holds the key to his destiny. Could it be that Artie is actually King Arthur, brought to life in the modern world to save it from certain doom? Suddenly the fate of the universe rests on the shoulders of Artie and his sister, Kay, if they’ll accept their mission. All they have to do is walk through the door of the tower and into the Otherworld….

Brimming with fire-breathing dragons, powerful sorcerers, and life-changing quests, The Invisible Tower has been praised for its nonstop action, spot-on humor, and captivating spin on Arthurian legend. VOYA raved that it’s “fresh and fun with plenty to offer the avid reader looking for a new series” and ALA Booklist called it “an entertaining quest fantasy, juiced with enough creativity to carry readers happily into future episodes.” The first book in the explosive Otherworld Chronicles trilogy is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Ranger’s Apprentice-and the promise of greater danger to come will leave readers breathless for more.

The Seven Swords by Nils Johnson-Shelton
Otherworld Chronicles, #2
Genre: Juvenile Fiction / Legends, Myths, & Fables
Ages 8 to 12, Grades 3 to 7
Pages: 368 Hardcover
Date Published: January 2nd, 2013
Publisher: Harper

Scattered across both worlds are seven legendary blades. Some have been forgotten. Others secreted away. Very soon all must be united….

Spending the summer fighting dragons, rescuing wizards, and leaping through portals into the Otherworld was only the start of Artie Kingfisher’s quest to claim his throne as King Arthur reborn in the twenty-first century. Now Artie and his sister, Kay, must gather a team of knights to recover the mythical Seven Swords, whose combined power will be their only hope for victory over the evil Lordess Morgaine.

But all the video games in the world haven’t prepared Artie for the battles to come, or for the unexpected threat of the Peace Sword-the mysterious weapon used to kill the original King Arthur more than a thousand years ago….

Kirkus Reviews praised The Invisible Tower as “high-spirited and fun” and ALA Booklist called it “an entertaining quest fantasy, juiced with enough creativity to carry readers happily into future episodes.” The second book in the Otherworld Chronicles trilogy is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Ranger’s Apprentice-and the cliffhanger ending will leave readers clamoring for the conclusion to Artie’s mission, coming next year.

.

Nils Johnson-Shelton is the author of Otherworld Chronicles: The Invisible Tower. He is also the coauthor of the New York Times bestselling No Angel: My Harrowing Undercover Journey to the Inner Circle of the Hells Angels. Nils lives in Brooklyn, NY, with his family.

 

Print Friendly