Shattered: Finding Hope and Healing Through the Losses of Life by Rita A. Schulte {Preview}

It is time for a FIRST Wild Card Tour book review! If you wish to join the FIRST blog alliance, just click the button. We are a group of reviewers who tour Christian books. A Wild Card post includes a brief bio of the author and a full chapter from each book toured. The reason it is called a FIRST Wild Card Tour is that you never know if the book will be fiction, non~fiction, for young, or for old…or for somewhere in between! Enjoy your free peek into the book! You never know when I might play a wild card on you! Today’s Wild Card author is: Rita L. Schulte and the book: Shattered: Finding Hope and Healing Through the Losses of Life Leafwood Publishers (September 10, 2013) ***Special thanks to Ryan Self for sending me a review copy.*** ABOUT THE AUTHOR:  Rita A. Schulte is a licensed professional. . .

Continue reading

Vanishing Act by Jennifer AlLee and Lisa Karon {Preview}

Pinkerton detective Carter Forbes returns in Book Two of the Charm & Deceit series. Set in Washington D. C. during the Civil War the action revolves around Juliet Button who does not believe in ghosts! She does believe in supporting her makeshift family of misfits. Having spent years as assistant to her illusionist uncle, Juliet possesses skills to make an audience believe the impossible and launches a career as “Miss Avila,” a medium. She wants nothing to do with agent Forbes who has the power to destroy the life she’s built. But when President Lincoln’s youngest son is kidnapped, and the first lady comes to her for help, she can’t refuse, even if it means facing Forbes, who knows far too much about her already.

Continue reading

Prayers tomorrow would be appreciated…

Prayers tomorrow (August 28th) would be appreciated… I’m headed in for surgery scheduled at 12:30. Should be 30-45 minutes procedure and then 45 minutes in recovery. I’ll be away from the computer (and blog) for a bit until I feel like jumping back in. Might be a day, might be a few more.

Thoughts and prayers appreciated…

Over the River and Through the Woods illustrated by Matt Tavares

Matt Tavares’s lavish illustrations illuminate this definitive edition of a beloved seasonal classic.

The horse is ready, the air is bracing, and everyone is bundled into the sleigh. So let the wind blow and the snow start to fall! This family is off to Grandfather’s house for a delicious feast. Matt Tavares, with his keen eye for detail, fresh and surprising perspectives, and all the warmth and coziness of a big holiday dinner, illuminates the original text of Lydia Maria Child’s verse about Thanksgiving Day, which has marked the start of the holiday season for generations of children.

Continue reading

The Candle Classic Bible

A Bible story for every day—365 of the best-loved Bible stories fully illustrated in a classic style will become favorites for children and parents alike, with each story divided into easy-to-read sections with the day, heading, and Scripture reference. Children are encouraged to spend family time together reading a new story each day.

Old Testament: From the Story of Creation to Isaac, from Joseph to Ruth, from Job to David, from Elisha to the Prophets.

New Testament: From John the Baptist to the story of Jesus, to the story of the Apostles, to John’s Vision of Heaven.

Continue reading

First Hired, Last Fired: How to Become Irreplaceable in Any Job Market by Anita Agers-Brooks {Preview}

It is time for a FIRST Wild Card Tour book review! If you wish to join the FIRST blog alliance, just click the button. We are a group of reviewers who tour Christian books. A Wild Card post includes a brief bio of the author and a full chapter from each book toured. The reason it is called a FIRST Wild Card Tour is that you never know if the book will be fiction, non~fiction, for young, or for old…or for somewhere in between! Enjoy your free peek into the book! You never know when I might play a wild card on you! Today’s Wild Card author is: Anita Agers-Brooks and the book: First Hired, Last Fired: How to Become Irreplaceable in Any Job Market Leafwood Publishers (August 13, 2013) ***Special thanks to Ryan Self for sending me a review copy.*** ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Anita Agers-Brooks is a business and. . .

Continue reading

Sitting and staring…

Right now I’m sitting in the brown chair just staring out the library window. My blossoms are four and two and we have been in this house for about two and a half years. This last week things are really starting to settle a bit more. Since I left for collage life has been a lot of here there and yonder. Live here 3 months, there 2 months, here a semester, here a summer, there a few weeks, here 7 months, and on and on pick up and go for over three years. Then came marriage. A year there almost, then a year here in our first home purchase. Lay-offs and closing divisions and we up rooted from one state and moved to another. Rented for almost 2 years and then moved to this house we own now. I’m so used to being in boxes. This weekend I got rid. . .

Continue reading

Into the Whirlwind by Elizabeth Camden {Preview}

After her father’s death, Mollie Knox takes over his watchmaking company and uses her head for business to solidify the good name of the 57th Illinois Watch Company. Her future looks bright until the night her beloved city is destroyed in the legendary Great Chicago Fire. With her world crumbling around her, Molly must do whatever it takes to save her company in the aftermath of the devastating fire.

Zack Kazmarek is an influential attorney with powerful ties to the political, mercantile, and ethnic roots of Chicago. His only weakness is Mollie Knox, a woman who has always been just beyond his reach. However, all bets are off after the fire destroys Chicago, and Mollie is in desperate need of assistance. Just as Zack finally begins to pursue the woman he loves, competition arises in the form of a hero from her past who can provide the help she needs to rise from the ashes.

While Mollie struggles to rebuild, the two men battle for her heart. One has always loved her, but the other has the power to save her. In the race to rebuild the city, can she survive with her business and her heart intact?

Continue reading

Starting School Book Guide for 2013!

  First Day of School by Anne & Lizzy Rockwell Genre: Juvenile Fiction / School & Education Ages 4 to 8, Grades P to 3 Pages: 40 Paperback 9×9″ Date Published: June 2013 Publisher: Harper The kids from Mrs. Madoff’s classroom-“a charmed place” (Kirkus Reviews)-are preparing for a brand-new school year! The first day of school is full of new things. New is exciting! But it can also be scary. What will school be like this year? The kids from Mrs. Madoff’s class meet at the park and show off their new haircuts, new lunch boxes, new backpacks, and notebooks. They also show off their new independence: Nicholas thinks his haircut makes him look grown-up like his dad, Jessica can make her lunches all by herself, and Evan has his very own house key! Thinking back to last year, they remember how much fun Mrs. Madoff’s class turned out to. . .

Continue reading

Coming Soon from the Pen, Please Welcome Back Regina Scott!

Time seems to fly. It’s hard to believe you published your first book, The Unflappable Miss Fairchild, 15 years ago and that your August release, The Courting Campaign, marks your 25th book. How has being published changed your life? It’s opened up new worlds, both in terms of research that takes me to far places and in terms of meeting new friends. Years ago, writing was a solitary pursuit. Now, I’ve met authors who write about the same time period I do, or who approach writing in the same way I do. It’s very encouraging! Christian Historical Fiction seems to be your main genre. Is it your favorite to write? Definitely! I’ve tried to write mysteries or fantasy, but the romance keeps creeping in. I have a hard time reading a book or watching a movie that doesn’t have some sort of interplay between male and female characters. I’ve also. . .

Continue reading

K4 Curriculum for 2013-2014

We’re just finishing up with week two of our Kindergarten (K4) year and we’re using Memoria Press Curriculum this year and so far loving every minute of it. I had plans to add in OPGTR, FLL and MM but we just haven’t needed or wanted to add anything else this year. The only adding on I’ve done is more library books or videos on the themes of the week. Otherwise, Memoria Press Curriculum planners have put it all together for me!

Continue reading

Confessions of a So-called Middle Child in stores now!

It’s Mean Girls for tweens in the tradition of Paula Danziger’s Cat That Ate My Gymsuit and Judy Blume! Watch out, world: here comes Charlie C. Cooper-computer whiz, reformed bully, and so-called middle child-in this seriously funny debut tween novel from screenwriter Maria T. Lennon.

Continue reading

Rules of Murder by Julianna Deering {Preview}

Drew Farthering loves a good mystery, although he generally expects to find it in the pages of a novel, not on the grounds of his country estate. When a weekend party at Farthering Place is ruined by murder and the police seem flummoxed, Drew decides to look into the crime himself. With the help of his best friend, Nick Dennison, an avid mystery reader, and Madeline Parker, a beautiful and whip-smart American debutante staying as a guest, the three try to solve the mystery as a lark, using the methods from their favorite novels.

Continue reading

Coming Soon from the Pen, Please Welcome Historical Author Mona Hodgson!

Brand New from the Pen interview Hi everyone! Thanks so much for opportunity to join you here. What made you interested in writing Christian Historical Fiction? Do you write any other genres? In central Arizona, I live at the base of Mingus Mountain, home to the most vertical town in the United States—Jerome. More than twenty years ago, when I first visited the Jerome State Historic Park, the Douglas Mansion, I became fascinated with the historic copper mining camp’s history and the romantic appeal of the late 1890’s. Soon thereafter, I entertained the idea of writing a historical novel set in Jerome during its boom town years in the late 1890s. Some of those seeds sprouted in my debut series, The Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek, set in the late 1890s, in a gold mining camp in Colorado. Before WaterBrook Multnomah published my debut novel, Two Brides Too Many, I. . .

Continue reading