Glittering Promises (The Grand Tour Series) by Lisa Bergren

Genres: Christian Fiction, Christian Historical Fiction, Historical Fiction, Romance

I received a portion of this product free for the purpose of reviewing it. See full disclosure at close of post or read my disclosure policy for more details. *Thanks the publicist for providing a copy for review.*

Glittering PromisesGlittering Promises by Lisa T. Bergren
(Grand Tour, #3)
Genre: Christian Historical Fiction
Pages: 464 Trade Paperback
Date Published: October 2013
Publisher: David C. Cook

Lisa T. Bergren’s popular Grand Tour series concludes as Cora Kensington journeys farther into Italy, wrestles with a terrible ultimatum from her father, and comes to terms with the Father who will never fail her.

America’s newest heiress must decide if her potential fortune is rationale enough to give up her freedom and all that God is leading her toward. And when her newly-discovered siblings are threatened with ruin, her quandary deepens. Then as Cora nears Rome, more journalists are tracking the news story of the decade—“Copper Cora,” the rags-to-riches girl—and want to know more about her family and the men vying for her attention. Meanwhile, a charming Italian countess decides that if Cora isn’t going to claim Will’s heart, she might just try . . .

Having this series described as powerful and epic fits well. Lisa’s books often stand above others in that they just cannot be rated the same. They just contain so much more than a flimsy romance to distract one for a day. Yes there is romance, and mystery, but there is so much more to that in these pages. You gotta love a good chunkster book, and especially when they are as entertaining, thrilling, enchanting and romantic as this.

I was absolutely delighted with Glamorous Illusions and was really looking forward to getting my eyes upon the next part of the story in Grave Consquences. During the wait I even had time to fit in a great post that you can even go back to see, a Coming Soon from the Pen post with Lisa. The first thing that stands out to me in continuing the story of Cora in the second novel for this Grand Tour Series is that to fully understand the characters a reader would sincerely benefit from reading Glamorous Illusions, the first novel before hand. While there is probably a chance you could enjoy Grave Consequences and Glittering Promises without it, you would have missed a lot of the building of personalities and situations to explain why the characters are why and where they are.

Lisa’s writing enchants me and I can hardly believe this series is coming to an end. I suppose I will have to go on a tangent of reading her teen fantasy books of which I am not yet familiar. Truly even though it is an entirely different story and setting finishing Cora’s story makes me want to reread the Begotten series from years ago which first introduced me to Lisa. If you haven’t yet read any of Lisa’s writing the Grand Tour Series is a great place to get hooked start.


Join the Flock! LitFuse Publicity Group blogger


I received this product free for the purpose of reviewing it. I received no other compensation for this review. The opinions expressed in this review are my personal, honest opinions. Your experience may vary. Please read my full disclosure policy for more details.


Lisa Tawn BergrenLisa T. Bergren is the award-winning author of over thirty-five books, with more than 2 million copies sold. A former publishing executive, Lisa now divides her time between writing, editing, parenting three children with her husband, Tim, and dreaming of her next trip to Italy. She lives in Colorado Springs.

Learn more about Lisa here:

Connect with Lisa on Goodreads:



The Grand Tour Series details the life of Cora Diehl Kensington, a woman of the Montana plains, swept up into a life of riches and privilege. Belatedly finding out a terrible secret about her parentage, Cora struggles to find out who she really is–as a child of God–in the midst of an enlightening, as well as dangerous, trip across Europe.


GRAVE CONSEQUENCES: Releases Spring 2013
Glamorous Illusions Grave Consequences Glittering Promises

Grand Tour Series (3 books)
by  (Goodreads Author)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

(No spam, I promise. Just creative madness ramblings, reviews and life-stories, with quilting and cross stitch inspiration in between!)

About CherryBlossomMJ

The Creative Madness Mama also known as Margaret is a Christian Stay-at-home Mama, married to the Enginerd, Quilter, avid reader and book-a-holic. A book blogger for bunches of different publicists. She loves to share the latest and greatest about books coming out as well as her quilt and other crafty projects with some pictures of her eight-year-old AppleBlossom, three-year-old Almond Blossom (the Rascal boy!), six-year-old OrangeBlossom (the Princess), and newborn Mermaid Warrior in between. Plotting to be a homeschooler, she's a cloth diapering, breastfeeding, babywearing, list making mama full of a little creative and a lot of madness.