Frankencrayon by Michael Hall {Review}

Frankencrayon

Frankencrayon has made his day! When I see a new book from Michael Hall, I know a few things. I know that is going to be ridiculously silly and fun and full on educational. He definitely does not disappoint with his latest January 2016 release in Frankencrayon. These are the type of books that I love to give my preschool and primary grade level kiddos. I love to see their imaginations spark as they think, hmm, maybe I can do something like this! I truly enjoy how his plot line is interesting enough to entertain the adults, yet thrilling enough to tickle the fancy of any child. There are lots of emotions in this one, but fun to discuss and keep in check!    

Continue reading

Red: A Crayon’s Story by Michael Hall {Review}

A blue crayon mistakenly labeled “red” suffers an identity crisis in the new picture book by the New York Times–bestselling creator of My Heart Is Like a Zoo and It’s an Orange Aardvark! This funny, heartwarming, colorful picture book about finding the courage to be true to your inner self can be read on multiple levels, and it offers something for everyone! Will appeal to fans of Lois Ehlert, Eric Carle, and The Day the Crayons Quit.

Continue reading

Cat Tale by Michael Hall {Review}

*This post has been updated on February 4, 2016 with my new format, with the Ultimate Book Blogger Plugin.* This book is fabulous! It is school shelf worthy. 🙂 With illustrations that are similar in method to Eric Carle this book is vibrant and full of color and while it is attractive, the absolute best part is the text. The story is fun, but it is the word play. The jump between appearance, sound and meaning keeps you guessing and brings on the intriguing. I love it an I will have to get a real copy, this is one I know I plan to use again and again for our grammar/language arts type lessons. I’m completely excited about this one and recommend it to all!

Continue reading