I Am Otter & Otter in Space by Sam Garton {Review}

I Am Otter in Space Review from Creative Madness Mama

Fans of Marley, Curious George, and Paddington REJOICE! I Am Otter is adorable in an Alvin and the Chimpmunks and the characters mentioned above sort of way. I believe this book is a debut for 2014, but not entirely new as “old Otter stories” are found in a plethora on Sam Garton’s website and blog: I Am Otter: The Unheard Ramblings of a Domestic Otter. The website is highly amusing and I highly recommend a visit. This book is adorable, already said that, right. Otter is unmistakably mischievous, yet child-like innocent as beloved characters often may be found. While I truly think Otter needs a lesson in spelling… her first book of antics make me delighted to meet her. I look forward to more I Am Otter and her friendly Teddy. Love I Am Otter! I Am Otter in Space is also adorable (it’s that word again…) and sooo imaginative! I Am Otter is now a favorite. . .

Continue reading

The Gift of the Tree (aka The Dead Tree) by Alvin Tresselt

This is on out book list for Memoria Press. Alvin Tresselt is not new to our bookshelf. Not is he new in recommendation by Memoria Press Classical Core curriculum. We also have Hide and Seek Fog and White Snow, Bright Snow both also Memoria Press primary literature read alouds as well as Rain, Drop, Splash which is apparently his first success tests on our shelf. We’re reading this tonight to go along with our Forest for the Trees unit study, but I look forward to costing it again when we reach it in our studies next year.

Continue reading

Red: A Crayon’s Story by Michael Hall {Review}

A blue crayon mistakenly labeled “red” suffers an identity crisis in the new picture book by the New York Times–bestselling creator of My Heart Is Like a Zoo and It’s an Orange Aardvark! This funny, heartwarming, colorful picture book about finding the courage to be true to your inner self can be read on multiple levels, and it offers something for everyone! Will appeal to fans of Lois Ehlert, Eric Carle, and The Day the Crayons Quit.

Continue reading