The Princess and the Frogs (Children’s Book) by Veronia Bartles {Review}

The Princess and the Frogs

  This is cute and a new rewrite of a story we know and love. As a mother to a little princess who is crazy about all things princess, and her sister who is studying literature on fairy tales this year we found this book to arrive with perfect timing. Cassandra is an adorable little princess (with glasses, no less!!) that really wants a frog friend to do activities with, however, when she finds the frog, he becomes a prince! This happens again and again, but finally it settles into a great ending for all characters involved. Veronica Bartles’ writing is witty and Sara Palacios’ illustrations are vibrant and fun. A great one for our shelves. View all my reviews

Continue reading

Hillary Rodham Clinton (Picture Book) by Michelle Markel {Review}

Hillary Rodham Clinton picture book

A gorgeous and inspiring picture book biography of Hillary Rodham Clinton—First Lady, senator, secretary of state, and much more.

From Michelle Markel and LeUyen Pham comes an inspiring portrait of a girl who fought to make a difference—and paved the way for women everywhere.

Continue reading

I Am Otter & Otter in Space by Sam Garton {Review}

I Am Otter in Space Review from Creative Madness Mama

Fans of Marley, Curious George, and Paddington REJOICE! I Am Otter is adorable in an Alvin and the Chimpmunks and the characters mentioned above sort of way. I believe this book is a debut for 2014, but not entirely new as “old Otter stories” are found in a plethora on Sam Garton’s website and blog: I Am Otter: The Unheard Ramblings of a Domestic Otter. The website is highly amusing and I highly recommend a visit. This book is adorable, already said that, right. Otter is unmistakably mischievous, yet child-like innocent as beloved characters often may be found. While I truly think Otter needs a lesson in spelling… her first book of antics make me delighted to meet her. I look forward to more I Am Otter and her friendly Teddy. Love I Am Otter! I Am Otter in Space is also adorable (it’s that word again…) and sooo imaginative! I Am Otter is now a favorite. . .

Continue reading

Brave Girl: Clara and the Shirtwaist Makers’ Strike of 1909 (Picture Book) by Michelle Markel {Review}

When Clara Lemlich arrived in America, she couldn’t speak English. She didn’t know that young women had to go to work, that they traded an education for long hours of labor, that she was expected to grow up fast.

But that did not stop Clara.

Continue reading