Red: A Crayon’s Story by Michael Hall {Review}

A blue crayon mistakenly labeled “red” suffers an identity crisis in the new picture book by the New York Times–bestselling creator of My Heart Is Like a Zoo and It’s an Orange Aardvark! This funny, heartwarming, colorful picture book about finding the courage to be true to your inner self can be read on multiple levels, and it offers something for everyone! Will appeal to fans of Lois Ehlert, Eric Carle, and The Day the Crayons Quit.

Continue reading

Cat Tale by Michael Hall {Review}

*This post has been updated on February 4, 2016 with my new format, with the Ultimate Book Blogger Plugin.* This book is fabulous! It is school shelf worthy. 🙂 With illustrations that are similar in method to Eric Carle this book is vibrant and full of color and while it is attractive, the absolute best part is the text. The story is fun, but it is the word play. The jump between appearance, sound and meaning keeps you guessing and brings on the intriguing. I love it an I will have to get a real copy, this is one I know I plan to use again and again for our grammar/language arts type lessons. I’m completely excited about this one and recommend it to all!

Continue reading

Seed by Seed by Esmé Raji Codell

Educator, librarian, and best-selling author Esm? Raji Codell and Newbery Medalist and award-winning artist Lynne Rae Perkins present a compelling picture book about the life of Johnny Appleseed. Sure to be a classroom and seasonal favorite.

Why should we remember Johnny Appleseed today-more than two hundred years after he was born-and call him a hero? Why are the life and lessons of John Appleseed relevant to kids now? This extraordinary picture book answers these questions and more and challenges readers to follow the five footsteps John Chapman left behind: 1. Use what you have 2. Share what you have 3. Respect nature 4. Try to make peace where there is war 5. You can reach your destination by taking small steps. An insightful and friendly text, stunning mixed-media illustrations that combine wood, paper, paint, and fabric, and a winning mixture of information and inspiration make for a stellar picture book for all ages. Includes suggestions for celebrating John Chapman’s birthday (September 26), apple craft ideas, and a recipe.

Continue reading