The Princess and the Frogs (Children’s Book) by Veronia Bartles {Review}

The Princess and the Frogs

  This is cute and a new rewrite of a story we know and love. As a mother to a little princess who is crazy about all things princess, and her sister who is studying literature on fairy tales this year we found this book to arrive with perfect timing. Cassandra is an adorable little princess (with glasses, no less!!) that really wants a frog friend to do activities with, however, when she finds the frog, he becomes a prince! This happens again and again, but finally it settles into a great ending for all characters involved. Veronica Bartles’ writing is witty and Sara Palacios’ illustrations are vibrant and fun. A great one for our shelves. View all my reviews

Continue reading

Hillary Rodham Clinton (Picture Book) by Michelle Markel {Review}

Hillary Rodham Clinton picture book

A gorgeous and inspiring picture book biography of Hillary Rodham Clinton—First Lady, senator, secretary of state, and much more.

From Michelle Markel and LeUyen Pham comes an inspiring portrait of a girl who fought to make a difference—and paved the way for women everywhere.

Continue reading

Dill & Bizzy: An Odd Duck and a Strange Bird {Review}

Dill & Bizzy

View all my reviews This book is a fun work of art between two sisters. Both of their work is new to me, but I’m delighted with it now that I’ve experienced it! Dill, an extraordinary duck and a delightfully strange bird Bizzy are at the start of a friendship. This would be a great read about the time of reading such friendship reads like picture books of a Kevin Henkes vein. The colors chosen are vibrant and not of the standard picture book. I won’t hesitate to share this one with my girls. I read an ARC in September 2015.

Continue reading

Girl & Gorilla: Out and About {Review}

Girl & Gorilla cover

View all my reviews Books set in an urban setting are always intriguing to me. Growing up in suburbia and rural areas I have no real knowledge about what it would be like to grow up in a city other than what I’ve read in books and seen on cartoons and movies on TV, thus I’m always intrigued to experience such stories and now to share them with my own children. Girl & Gorilla Out and About is a fun story about two friends on their way to play at the park, but it seems to be taking so long to walk there and in an attempt to pass the time they come up with all sorts of traveling games. But the fun part is that do not seem to realize they are doing so and they entertain themselves on the way there and while they’re there and then it seems. . .

Continue reading

A Pig-in-a-Wig Book {Review}

Pig in a Wig #2

PigInaWigBooks.com |emmavirjan.com … A Pig in a Wig is funny and perfect as an early reader book. Building, repetition, and sequence. Friendship is the main theme and I think this one would be great for the classroom and acting out. I’m eager to share it with my budding readers. I was delighted with the first book for the new A Pig in a Wig Series and I’m just as enthusiastic about the second book if not more so. A great bedtime book, but also one for naps, or any reading practice in between. Short building phrases and animal interest keep this quirky pig in a great pile for reading practice. Head over to the Pig in a Wig site and download Activity Pages and a Curriculum Guide!

Continue reading

Little Miss, Big Sis by Amy Krouse Rosenthal {Review}

Little Miss, Big Sis

Amazing! Wonderful! I love this ‘big sister’ book and I’ve read quite a few. This is my favorite. The simple Peter H. Reynolds illustrations are delightful as per usual. Rhyming text from Amy Krouse Rosenthal is enlightening and covers more than just the initial excitement and then chaos. Every big sister should get this book!

Continue reading

Itty Bitty Kitty by Joan Holub {Review}

Itty Bitty Kitty cover

The first I notice is on the cover, that is indeed NOT an itty bitty kitty… Secondly, Joan Holub, I love Joan Holub!  There is a plethora of rhymes in these pages and the story is poetic in style. Itty Bitty is a kitty on nearly a ‘Clifford’ scale. Ava’s parents are in a no-mood to the idea of a new kitty addition, however, she just might be a hero. I love Holub’s books and the illsutrations of James Burks are creative and colorful. I love the idea of a ‘giant’ Itty Bitty Kitty, but the premise of an escapee baby makes this mama cringe. I’m also not a fan of the suggestion to my little people to hid a little kitty. — but then maybe I take picture books too seriously. Coming in March 2016!

Continue reading

In the Waves by Lennon & Maisy Stella {Review}

In the Waves cover

Grab your ol’ flip-flops and your sunblock, too, for this sing-along story told to the tune of the debut original song from Lennon and Maisy of the hit TV show Nashville. Based on a song by Lennon, Maisy, and Mary Lynne Steall and Carolyn Dawn Johson. Singing duo and stars of the TV show ‘Nashville’ have a debut picture book and a download for the song is available at HarperCollins.com/IntheWaves (embedded below, click through to the blog to be able to play the audio file). While I have to confess I am not a watcher of reality TV shows, I have seen commercials of it. Apparently, In the Waves is their first released original song as well, though they scored a Top 40 hit with a rendition. Steve’s illustrations are vivid and colorful. The repetition, or chorus I suppose, adds to the book and overall it is fun. I love the ending.. . .

Continue reading

Halloween Reads, whether you like it sweet or scary, I have some for you! (Book List)

Halloween Reading Recommendations on Creative Madness Mama

There are a handful of new good readers for little spooks this Halloween as well as our oldies, but goodies from other years. Hopefully you’ll find something to add to your lists from here! Most of these books are available as eBooks as well as hardcover picture books (but of course I always recommend the real thing!) I love Otter! We love Otter! Otter is absolutely adorable, truly I do not exaggerate. Otter! was a big hit, Otter in Space! was perfect for us this year, and now Otter Loves Halloween! is a great addition. While the first two books are taller 9×11″ jacket hardcovers, this seasonal special is a 9×9″ hardcover and will go great on the holiday shelf next to the Marley, Splat the Cat, and Pete the Cat books. Otter is a brave sole, just as are most children in the 4-8 age range and he is. . .

Continue reading

I Am Otter & Otter in Space by Sam Garton {Review}

I Am Otter in Space Review from Creative Madness Mama

Fans of Marley, Curious George, and Paddington REJOICE! I Am Otter is adorable in an Alvin and the Chimpmunks and the characters mentioned above sort of way. I believe this book is a debut for 2014, but not entirely new as “old Otter stories” are found in a plethora on Sam Garton’s website and blog: I Am Otter: The Unheard Ramblings of a Domestic Otter. The website is highly amusing and I highly recommend a visit. This book is adorable, already said that, right. Otter is unmistakably mischievous, yet child-like innocent as beloved characters often may be found. While I truly think Otter needs a lesson in spelling… her first book of antics make me delighted to meet her. I look forward to more I Am Otter and her friendly Teddy. Love I Am Otter! I Am Otter in Space is also adorable (it’s that word again…) and sooo imaginative! I Am Otter is now a favorite. . .

Continue reading

Red: A Crayon’s Story by Michael Hall {Review}

A blue crayon mistakenly labeled “red” suffers an identity crisis in the new picture book by the New York Times–bestselling creator of My Heart Is Like a Zoo and It’s an Orange Aardvark! This funny, heartwarming, colorful picture book about finding the courage to be true to your inner self can be read on multiple levels, and it offers something for everyone! Will appeal to fans of Lois Ehlert, Eric Carle, and The Day the Crayons Quit.

Continue reading

The Little Fir Tree by Margaret Wise Brown {Christmas}

Once there was a tree that stood in a field away from the other trees. It longed to be part of the forest—or part of anything at all. After many lonely years, its dream came true. And the little fir tree’s life changed forever!

Continue reading

Brave Girl: Clara and the Shirtwaist Makers’ Strike of 1909 (Picture Book) by Michelle Markel {Review}

When Clara Lemlich arrived in America, she couldn’t speak English. She didn’t know that young women had to go to work, that they traded an education for long hours of labor, that she was expected to grow up fast.

But that did not stop Clara.

Continue reading