• Alibris: Books, Music, & Movies

Jinx’s Magic is now in paperback!

In this second installment of the Jinx trilogy, Sage Blackwood’s daring hero is called upon to save the Urwald. The more he learns, however, the clearer it becomes that this quest will require more than the magic of a solitary wizard’s apprentice, and soon he’ll have to call upon all of the Urwald—witches, werewolves, wizards, and trees—for help.

Continue reading

The Great Unexpected (Now in Paperback!)

From Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech comes a grand story that is a celebration of the great and unexpected gifts of friendship and forgiveness, and weaves together two worlds, one in Blackbird Tree, USA, and the other far across the ocean in Ireland. Kirkus Reviews, in a starred review, called it “an enchanting tale to treasure in which ordinary folk find fairies’ gold, run across crooked bridges, and mend their broken hearts.”

Continue reading

Confessions of a So-called Middle Child in stores now!

It’s Mean Girls for tweens in the tradition of Paula Danziger’s Cat That Ate My Gymsuit and Judy Blume! Watch out, world: here comes Charlie C. Cooper-computer whiz, reformed bully, and so-called middle child-in this seriously funny debut tween novel from screenwriter Maria T. Lennon.

Continue reading

The Beginner’s Bible Super-Duper, Mighty, Jumbo Coloring & Activity Books

In THE BEGINNER’S BIBLE SUPER-DUPER MIGHTY JUMBO COLORING BOOK and THE SUPER-DUPER MIGHTY JUMBO ACTIVITY BOOK (Zonderkidz, September 2012; $5.99 each), youngsters can color, doodle, and connect the dots, as they bring their favorite Bible characters to life with a series of fun prompts. Each book contains nearly 400 pages of pictures and games, promoting hours of creativity and imagination.

Continue reading

The Great Unexpected by Sharon Creech

Heartfelt and hilarious, this is a classic and sweeping yarn, a story of pairs-of spirited young orphans Naomi and Lizzie in Blackbird Tree, USA, and of Sybil and Nula, grown-up sisters from far away Rooks Orchard, Ireland. Beloved author Sharon Creech deftly weaves these two rich worlds together, as unraveling mysteries of identity unfold with alternating stories across the ocean. Naomi’s and Lizzie’s misfortunes turn into lives filled with hope, as old misunderstandings between Sybil and Nula give way to love and forgiveness. With captivating language and an amazing cast of characters, such as Elizabeth Scatterding, Miss Pilpenny, Witch Wiggins, Mr. Dingle, and Paddy McCoul, this is a tale about unexpected gifts-the kindness of neighbors, of strangers fostering children, and of young people helping old and old helping young. This breathtaking tale reminds us that magic is everywhere, though not necessarily where we might think.

Continue reading

The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck by Emily Fairlie

Using a unique blend of notes, lists, and classic prose, The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck tells the story of Bud and Laurie’s quest to find the infamous Tutweiler Treasure. They’re hot (or at least lukewarm) on the trail of clues, but time is running out-the school board wants to tear down Tuckernuck Hall. Can Bud and Laurie find the treasure before it’s lost forever?

Continue reading