• Alibris: Books, Music, & Movies

Halloween Reads, whether you like it sweet or scary, I have some for you! (Book List)

Halloween Reading Recommendations on Creative Madness Mama

There are a handful of new good readers for little spooks this Halloween as well as our oldies, but goodies from other years. Hopefully you’ll find something to add to your lists from here! Most of these books are available as eBooks as well as hardcover picture books (but of course I always recommend the real thing!) I love Otter! We love Otter! Otter is absolutely adorable, truly I do not exaggerate. Otter! was a big hit, Otter in Space! was perfect for us this year, and now Otter Loves Halloween! is a great addition. While the first two books are taller 9×11″ jacket hardcovers, this seasonal special is a 9×9″ hardcover and will go great on the holiday shelf next to the Marley, Splat the Cat, and Pete the Cat books. Otter is a brave sole, just as are most children in the 4-8 age range and he is. . .

Continue reading

I Am Otter & Otter in Space by Sam Garton {Review}

I Am Otter in Space Review from Creative Madness Mama

Fans of Marley, Curious George, and Paddington REJOICE! I Am Otter is adorable in an Alvin and the Chimpmunks and the characters mentioned above sort of way. I believe this book is a debut for 2014, but not entirely new as “old Otter stories” are found in a plethora on Sam Garton’s website and blog: I Am Otter: The Unheard Ramblings of a Domestic Otter. The website is highly amusing and I highly recommend a visit. This book is adorable, already said that, right. Otter is unmistakably mischievous, yet child-like innocent as beloved characters often may be found. While I truly think Otter needs a lesson in spelling… her first book of antics make me delighted to meet her. I look forward to more I Am Otter and her friendly Teddy. Love I Am Otter! I Am Otter in Space is also adorable (it’s that word again…) and sooo imaginative! I Am Otter is now a favorite. . .

Continue reading

An Extraordinary Egg by Leo Lionni {Step into Reading, Level 3}

Leo Lionni’s popular story about an alligator who gets confused with a chicken is now available as a Step 3 Step into Reading book—perfect for children who are ready to read on their own!

Continue reading

Blown Away by Rob Biddulph

Come on an unexpected journey with a fearless blue penguin in Rob Biddulph’s debut picture book, Blown Away. In this brilliantly captivating and gloriously illustrated story, a brave young penguin takes a kite flight to a tropical paradise. But in the end, he realizes that home is where his igloo is.

Continue reading

The Big Golden Book of Dinosaurs by Dr. Robert T. Bakker

Renowned paleontologist Robert T. Bakker and award-winning paleoartist Luis V. Rey combine forces in this oversized picture book about the evolution of dinosaurs. From the conquest of land by dino ancestor Acanthostega during the Devonian Period, through the mass die-off of dinosaurs at the end of the Cretaceous Period, Bakker and Rey take readers on a safari through time while paying subtle homage to the 1960 Giant Golden Book Dinosaurs and Other Prehistoric Reptiles that inspired them both as young dinophiles. With stops along the way to look at monster bugs, ferocious fin-backs, fluffy dinosaurs, sea monsters and the 12-year-old girl who discovered them, dinosaur orchestras, tickling tyrannosaurs, and much, much more, this is a journey readers will never forget. It’s a perfect gift for young dinosaur lovers-as well as adult fans of Dr. Bakker and Luis Rey!

Continue reading

Over the River and Through the Woods illustrated by Matt Tavares

Matt Tavares’s lavish illustrations illuminate this definitive edition of a beloved seasonal classic.

The horse is ready, the air is bracing, and everyone is bundled into the sleigh. So let the wind blow and the snow start to fall! This family is off to Grandfather’s house for a delicious feast. Matt Tavares, with his keen eye for detail, fresh and surprising perspectives, and all the warmth and coziness of a big holiday dinner, illuminates the original text of Lydia Maria Child’s verse about Thanksgiving Day, which has marked the start of the holiday season for generations of children.

Continue reading

Tea Time with Sophia Grace & Rosie

In TEA TIME WITH SOPHIA GRACE AND ROSIE, the cousins plan a tea party with lots of pink, glitter, chocolate, and cotton candy. Each one is allowed to invite one guest–and they invite each other! Ultimately, the most fun part of the tea party is sitting around eating sweets and having girl talk. The book will feature photos of the girls as well as dazzling illustrations by Shelagh McNicholas. Plus, young girls will love the tips for how to host a tea party!

Continue reading

Bears in Beds by Shirley Parenteau

Bears in Beds by Shirley Parenteau Illustrated by David Walker Genre: Children’s Picture Book – Juvenile Fiction / Bedtime & Dreams Ages 2 to 5 Pages: 32 Jacketed Hardcover Date Published: August 14, 2012 Publisher: Candlewick Press Those adorable bears from Bears on Chairs return in an irresistibly sweet bedtime story. It’s time for Big Brown Bear to tuck all four little bears into their beds. Then he’s ready to climb into his own bed and turn out the light. Five warm beds, holding five sleepy bears, until a sound goes whoosh in the middle of the night, and all the bears wake up in a fright. Will they ever get back into bed? Luckily, Big Brown Bear knows just what to do! A fun, rhyming read-aloud that parents will love and tired little cubs will be happy to snuggle up with. Bears on Chairs (my review) has absolutely got. . .

Continue reading

Mia and the Daisy Dance by Robin Farley (I Can Read!)

Mia and the Daisy Dance by Robin Farley Illustrated by Olga Ivanov, Aleksey Ivanov Level My First I Can Read! – Ballet Genre: Juvenile Fiction / Readers Pages: 32 Jacketed Hardcover Date Published: April 3, 2012 Publisher: HarperCollins Mia links arms with a friend for a special spring dance in her third I Can Read book. Mia’s dance class is putting on their first show! Each dancer will perform her own special part, and Mia can’t wait to practice. The dance is going to be perfect! But when Mia’s friend Anna leaves class early without learning her part, Mia begins to worry. Will Anna be able to dance at the show? Together, Mia and Anna learn that sometimes it’s not about the end result, but the fun of learning with a friend that’s important. Now as a fan, I look forward to read about Mia and her dance class again.. . .

Continue reading

Mia and the Big Sister Ballet by Robin Farley (I Can Read!)

When Mia grows up, she wants to be just like her big sister, Ava!

Ava is a ballerina in a real show, and Mia’s class is taking a trip to visit her. Mia and her friends watch Ava dance in the ballet, and then Ava shows them how to do some new moves. Mia tries to dance her best so that Ava will watch, but Ava is too busy helping Mia’s friends to notice. How can Mia show her big sister what a great ballerina she is?

Mia and the Big Sister Ballet is Mia’s fourth My First I Can Read book, perfect for all beginning readers and aspiring ballerinas everywhere.

Continue reading

Amelia Bedelia Cub Reporter (I Can Read!)

Stop the presses! Amelia Bedelia volunteers at a school newspaper and helps the students slug copy, create briefs, and determine if their stories pass the cereal test in this classic Amelia Bedelia I Can Read Level 2 adventure.

Continue reading

Amelia Bedelia’s First Apple Pie

Ever wonder what Amelia Bedelia was like as a child? Amelia Bedelia, the housekeeper for the Rogers family, has been entertaining generations of readers since 1963. Now she is starring in her own full-size picture book series…here as a little girl baking her first apple pie!

As an adult, Amelia Bedelia charms one and all with her delicious cakes and pies. But how did everyone’s favorite housekeeper get her culinary education? For the first time, fans can join Amelia Bedelia as a child as she bakes her very first apple pie. Herman Parish-together with Lynne Avril’s the adorably fresh art-brings the humor and fun of Amelia Bedelia, whose beginning reader books have sold more than 23 million copies, to a whole new level in this best-selling picture book series. A wonderful book for apple-picking season and all year round, Amelia Bedelia’s First Apple Pie will have readers hungry for more.

Continue reading

The Very Fairy Princess: Here Comes the Flower Girl! {Review} by Julie Andrews

Everyone’s favorite fairy princess is going to be the flower girl in Aunt Sue’s wedding! In Julie Andrews and Emma Walton Hamilton’s THE VERY FAIRY PRINCESS: HERE COMES THE FLOWER GIRL!, Gerry realizes it will be a small garden wedding instead of the lavish event of her dreams, and sets out to put her creative sparkle on everything from cakes to favors.

Continue reading

Pinkalicious: Purpledoodles by Victoria Kann

Pinkalicious: Purpledoodles by Victoria Kann Genre: Children’s Coloring and Activity Book Ages 3-103 Pages: 128 Paperback 8 1/4 x 11 Date Published: June 12, 2012 Publisher: HarperFestival, a division of HarperCollins Children’s Get ready, get set, use your pinkermagination! Drawing and coloring is doodlicious! Over 100 pages of purplicious pictures for you to complete Includes coloring, drawing, and activities to inspire creativity Perfect for Pinkalicious fans of all ages Oooh!! We are just starting to get to know Pinkalicious and her adventures and now to find activity books like this make me want to squeal. Pinkalicious: Purpledoodles is a coloring and activity book that is written in all purple lines (like Harold and the Purple Crayon shade…). Every page has something to color, doodles to finish and even puzzles, word searches, blank pages for your own art and more. The guide says ages 3-103 and I agree that anyone could. . .

Continue reading