• Alibris: Books, Music, & Movies

The Legend of the Easter Egg by Lori Walburg {Review}

The Legend of the Easter Egg

Newly Illustrated Edition: The Inspirational Story of a Favorite Easter Tradition Already we know that we love Richard Cowdrey’s illustrations, and he did a great job with his version of Dandi Daley Mackall’s The Legend of the Easter Robin and now an equally great job of Lori Walburg’s The Legend of the Easter Egg. This is a beautifully done glittery cover! The Legend of the Easter Robin illustrated by Richard Cowdrey includes beautiful full-page full-color illustrations that tell a historical and traditional tale for Easter time. Carrying over characters from other Lori Walburg Legends of stories, this book shows a perspective from a little boy with an ill sister with scarlet fever. In this story, the tale of resurrection is told through the curiosity of a little boy and beautiful images as he learns to pray, prays and hopes for health for his sister and for Easter to come. There are also dyed eggs. . .

Continue reading

Royal Easter Story (The Princess Parables) by Jeanna Young & Jacqueline Johnson {Review}

A Royal Easter Story picture book

From the popular Princess Parables series, an Easter story perfect for girls 4-8.   My 4-year-old Princess loves the Princess Parables series. She doesn’t have a favorite, but she loves to read the books featuring each sister again and again. We love the picture books and the I Can Read! early readers also. Thus, this year, we are very thrilled to add another book to this series with A Royal Easter Story that tells a tale of tradition, of those lost that can be found on Easter and of how Jesus is available for all who Ask, Seek, and Knock. Featuring teaching of Luke 11:9-13 this is a perfect princess themed story to get even the Princess child involved. Gotta love that glittery cover!   The most recent in the Princess Parables is in out Easter Book List! Check the blog for a review. #princess #easter #book A photo posted by. . .

Continue reading

Frankencrayon by Michael Hall {Review}

Frankencrayon

Frankencrayon has made his day! When I see a new book from Michael Hall, I know a few things. I know that is going to be ridiculously silly and fun and full on educational. He definitely does not disappoint with his latest January 2016 release in Frankencrayon. These are the type of books that I love to give my preschool and primary grade level kiddos. I love to see their imaginations spark as they think, hmm, maybe I can do something like this! I truly enjoy how his plot line is interesting enough to entertain the adults, yet thrilling enough to tickle the fancy of any child. There are lots of emotions in this one, but fun to discuss and keep in check!    

Continue reading

Dill & Bizzy: An Odd Duck and a Strange Bird {Review}

Dill & Bizzy

View all my reviews This book is a fun work of art between two sisters. Both of their work is new to me, but I’m delighted with it now that I’ve experienced it! Dill, an extraordinary duck and a delightfully strange bird Bizzy are at the start of a friendship. This would be a great read about the time of reading such friendship reads like picture books of a Kevin Henkes vein. The colors chosen are vibrant and not of the standard picture book. I won’t hesitate to share this one with my girls. I read an ARC in September 2015.

Continue reading

A Pig-in-a-Wig Book {Review}

Pig in a Wig #2

PigInaWigBooks.com |emmavirjan.com … A Pig in a Wig is funny and perfect as an early reader book. Building, repetition, and sequence. Friendship is the main theme and I think this one would be great for the classroom and acting out. I’m eager to share it with my budding readers. I was delighted with the first book for the new A Pig in a Wig Series and I’m just as enthusiastic about the second book if not more so. A great bedtime book, but also one for naps, or any reading practice in between. Short building phrases and animal interest keep this quirky pig in a great pile for reading practice. Head over to the Pig in a Wig site and download Activity Pages and a Curriculum Guide!

Continue reading

Ben Loves Bear by David McPhail {Review}

Ben Loves Bear

  Ben Loves Bear is an amazing book and I cannot wait to get my hands on Bella Loves Bunny! Ben Loves Bear is a lot of things under these durable covers. It is an early reader that is just right for my budding preschooler. It is a board book with absolutely adorable images that delights my toddler. The sentences are short enough (Ben Loves Bear. Bear Loves Ben.) that my toddler tries to mimic it and soon I think my preschooler will have it memorized. This is wide like a board book, (6×8 dimensions) but a bit taller so it almost fits in the early readers section near the I Can Read! books. I’m totally in love with it and if there were a dozen or so similar I’d race out to get them all. Did I tell you that I cannot wait to get my hands on Bella Loves Bunny?!. . .

Continue reading

Little Miss, Big Sis by Amy Krouse Rosenthal {Review}

Little Miss, Big Sis

Amazing! Wonderful! I love this ‘big sister’ book and I’ve read quite a few. This is my favorite. The simple Peter H. Reynolds illustrations are delightful as per usual. Rhyming text from Amy Krouse Rosenthal is enlightening and covers more than just the initial excitement and then chaos. Every big sister should get this book!

Continue reading

Itty Bitty Kitty by Joan Holub {Review}

Itty Bitty Kitty cover

The first I notice is on the cover, that is indeed NOT an itty bitty kitty… Secondly, Joan Holub, I love Joan Holub!  There is a plethora of rhymes in these pages and the story is poetic in style. Itty Bitty is a kitty on nearly a ‘Clifford’ scale. Ava’s parents are in a no-mood to the idea of a new kitty addition, however, she just might be a hero. I love Holub’s books and the illsutrations of James Burks are creative and colorful. I love the idea of a ‘giant’ Itty Bitty Kitty, but the premise of an escapee baby makes this mama cringe. I’m also not a fan of the suggestion to my little people to hid a little kitty. — but then maybe I take picture books too seriously. Coming in March 2016!

Continue reading

Halloween Reads, whether you like it sweet or scary, I have some for you! (Book List)

Halloween Reading Recommendations on Creative Madness Mama

There are a handful of new good readers for little spooks this Halloween as well as our oldies, but goodies from other years. Hopefully you’ll find something to add to your lists from here! Most of these books are available as eBooks as well as hardcover picture books (but of course I always recommend the real thing!) I love Otter! We love Otter! Otter is absolutely adorable, truly I do not exaggerate. Otter! was a big hit, Otter in Space! was perfect for us this year, and now Otter Loves Halloween! is a great addition. While the first two books are taller 9×11″ jacket hardcovers, this seasonal special is a 9×9″ hardcover and will go great on the holiday shelf next to the Marley, Splat the Cat, and Pete the Cat books. Otter is a brave sole, just as are most children in the 4-8 age range and he is. . .

Continue reading

An Extraordinary Egg by Leo Lionni {Step into Reading, Level 3}

Leo Lionni’s popular story about an alligator who gets confused with a chicken is now available as a Step 3 Step into Reading book—perfect for children who are ready to read on their own!

Continue reading

Lucado Treasury of Bedtime Prayers: Prayers for bedtime and every time of day! {Review}

On our shelves we have Max Lucado board books, a treasury, The Story for Little Ones, The Story for Children, and The Christmas Story for Children so I was delighted when I saw a gift-worthy treasury of prayers. Teaching our children poetry, and teaching them to pray is so valuable and a special part of our lives. This treasury is a beautiful tool to help do so. The Lucado Treasury of Bedtime Prayers presents classic rhyming prayers and Lucado originals in a gorgeous presentation for any family to use. An excellent gift idea! Anyone with a young child will benefit so well from this book and I couldn’t recommend it more highly.

Continue reading

Biscuit Goes Camping (I Can Read!) is in stores now!

Join Biscuit—the bestselling My First I Can Read Book character and everyone’s favorite yellow puppy—in this nighttime story about camping. Total Biscuit ICR sales top fourteen million copies!

Continue reading

The Gift of the Tree (aka The Dead Tree) by Alvin Tresselt

This is on out book list for Memoria Press. Alvin Tresselt is not new to our bookshelf. Not is he new in recommendation by Memoria Press Classical Core curriculum. We also have Hide and Seek Fog and White Snow, Bright Snow both also Memoria Press primary literature read alouds as well as Rain, Drop, Splash which is apparently his first success tests on our shelf. We’re reading this tonight to go along with our Forest for the Trees unit study, but I look forward to costing it again when we reach it in our studies next year.

Continue reading

Red: A Crayon’s Story by Michael Hall {Review}

A blue crayon mistakenly labeled “red” suffers an identity crisis in the new picture book by the New York Times–bestselling creator of My Heart Is Like a Zoo and It’s an Orange Aardvark! This funny, heartwarming, colorful picture book about finding the courage to be true to your inner self can be read on multiple levels, and it offers something for everyone! Will appeal to fans of Lois Ehlert, Eric Carle, and The Day the Crayons Quit.

Continue reading