Halloween Reads, whether you like it sweet or scary, I have some for you! (Book List)

Halloween Reading Recommendations on Creative Madness Mama

There are a handful of new good readers for little spooks this Halloween as well as our oldies, but goodies from other years. Hopefully you’ll find something to add to your lists from here! Most of these books are available as eBooks as well as hardcover picture books (but of course I always recommend the real thing!) I love Otter! We love Otter! Otter is absolutely adorable, truly I do not exaggerate. Otter! was a big hit, Otter in Space! was perfect for us this year, and now Otter Loves Halloween! is a great addition. While the first two books are taller 9×11″ jacket hardcovers, this seasonal special is a 9×9″ hardcover and will go great on the holiday shelf next to the Marley, Splat the Cat, and Pete the Cat books. Otter is a brave sole, just as are most children in the 4-8 age range and he is. . .

Continue reading

I Am Otter & Otter in Space by Sam Garton {Review}

I Am Otter in Space Review from Creative Madness Mama

Fans of Marley, Curious George, and Paddington REJOICE! I Am Otter is adorable in an Alvin and the Chimpmunks and the characters mentioned above sort of way. I believe this book is a debut for 2014, but not entirely new as “old Otter stories” are found in a plethora on Sam Garton’s website and blog: I Am Otter: The Unheard Ramblings of a Domestic Otter. The website is highly amusing and I highly recommend a visit. This book is adorable, already said that, right. Otter is unmistakably mischievous, yet child-like innocent as beloved characters often may be found. While I truly think Otter needs a lesson in spelling… her first book of antics make me delighted to meet her. I look forward to more I Am Otter and her friendly Teddy. Love I Am Otter! I Am Otter in Space is also adorable (it’s that word again…) and sooo imaginative! I Am Otter is now a favorite. . .

Continue reading

An Extraordinary Egg by Leo Lionni {Step into Reading, Level 3}

Leo Lionni’s popular story about an alligator who gets confused with a chicken is now available as a Step 3 Step into Reading book—perfect for children who are ready to read on their own!

Continue reading

Kel Gilligan’s Daredevil Stunt Show {Review}

From Michael Buckley, the bestselling author of the Sisters Grimm and NERDS series, and Dan Santat, author-illustrator of Sidekicks, comes this hilarious picture book starring Kel Gilligan (a.k.a. “The Boy Without Fear”) that encourages kids to laugh at their fears and celebrates the bravery it takes to try new things no matter how ordinary. Narrated by Kel himself as he attempts his “stunts” with Evel Knievel-like flair, the story unfolds as a performance in which readers themselves become part of the audience, encouraging Kel to get dressed all by himself (without a net!), eat new foods like broccoli (eww!), and take a bath (gasp!). Bold, interactive, and downright silly, this is a book to make kids cheer and attempt some “stunts” of their own.

Continue reading

The Very Fairy Princess: Here Comes the Flower Girl! {Review} by Julie Andrews

Everyone’s favorite fairy princess is going to be the flower girl in Aunt Sue’s wedding! In Julie Andrews and Emma Walton Hamilton’s THE VERY FAIRY PRINCESS: HERE COMES THE FLOWER GIRL!, Gerry realizes it will be a small garden wedding instead of the lavish event of her dreams, and sets out to put her creative sparkle on everything from cakes to favors.

Continue reading

Nurse, Soldier, Spy by Marissa Moss {Review}

This fast-paced, high-energy picture book tells the true story of Sarah Emma Edmonds, who at age nineteen disguised herself as a man in order to fight in the Civil War. She took the name Frank Thompson and joined a Michigan army regiment to battle the Confederacy. Sarah excelled as a soldier and nurse on the battlefield. Because of her heroism, she was asked to become a spy. Her story comes to life through the signature illustrations and design of John Hendrix and the exciting storytelling of Marissa Moss.

Continue reading

My Little Pony Basic Pinkie Pie

PINKIE PIE keeps her pony friends laughing and smiling all day! Cheerful and playful, she always looks on the bright side. Good friends always stick together just like your PINKIE PIE pony figure and her adorable mouse figure. Put the saddle on your pony figure and her little friend can ride on it everywhere they go! Keep your PINKIE PIE figures pretty pink hair smooth with the brush, so she looks great no matter where her adventures take her. Pony figure comes with brush, mouse figure and saddle. Ages 3 and up.

Continue reading

She said tractor and wants this.

So what does it mean when the penny pinching daddy emails me from his phone a picture and one sentence? Um, can you say wrapped around her little finger? Oh she’s good. He’s gone for with two daughters soon! She said tractor and wants this.

Continue reading

Strawberry Shortcake Berry Sweet Styles

Pretty and sweet-smelling five-inch-tall Strawberry Shortcake figure with brushable hair comes with all kinds of clothing accessories for you to mix and match and even her very own ‘armoire’ with a ‘vanity’ to store it all in! Figure comes with armoire with fold-down vanity, vanity chair, 1 pair of shoes, 1 pair of sandals, 2 butterfly barrettes, 5 butterfly clothing hangers, 1 leaf brush, 1 pair of leggings, 1 pair of berry sleeves, 1 pair of flower sleeves, 1 berry skirt/top, 1 pink skirt/top, 1 dress and 3 skirt accessories. The classic doll you grew up with is back for your daughter to enjoy!

She might be tiny, but she has a huge heart! Her friends love to gather at the Berry Café, where they can always count on Strawberry Shortcake for a helping hand and some berry delicious ‘treats’ no wonder shes everyones best friend in Berry Bitty City! Your ‘berry’ stylish and sweet-smelling five-inch-tall Strawberry Shortcake doll has so many outfit options she needs your help to find just the right one! Try her dress, skirt and top accessories on your friend, then add the berry sleeves or the flower sleeves. Which combination looks best? Should she put on ‘leggings’? And should she choose ‘shoes’ or ‘sandals’? When youve found the look you like, sit her down in front of her vanity accessory and style her hair with her brush accessory and her ‘barrettes’. At the end of the dress-up session, store all of her clothes on the hanger accessories and hang them in her very own ‘armoire’. Fashion has never been so ‘deliciously’ fun! Figure comes with armoire with fold-down vanity, vanity chair, 1 pair of shoes, 1 pair of sandals, 2 butterfly barrettes, 5 butterfly clothing hangers, 1 leaf brush, 1 pair of leggings, 1 pair of berry sleeves, 1 pair of flower sleeves, 1 berry skirt/top, 1 pink skirt/top, 1 dress and 3 skirt accessories.

Continue reading