• Alibris: Books, Music, & Movies

Halloween Reads, whether you like it sweet or scary, I have some for you! (Book List)

Halloween Reading Recommendations on Creative Madness Mama

There are a handful of new good readers for little spooks this Halloween as well as our oldies, but goodies from other years. Hopefully you’ll find something to add to your lists from here! Most of these books are available as eBooks as well as hardcover picture books (but of course I always recommend the real thing!) I love Otter! We love Otter! Otter is absolutely adorable, truly I do not exaggerate. Otter! was a big hit, Otter in Space! was perfect for us this year, and now Otter Loves Halloween! is a great addition. While the first two books are taller 9×11″ jacket hardcovers, this seasonal special is a 9×9″ hardcover and will go great on the holiday shelf next to the Marley, Splat the Cat, and Pete the Cat books. Otter is a brave sole, just as are most children in the 4-8 age range and he is. . .

Continue reading

I Am Otter & Otter in Space by Sam Garton {Review}

I Am Otter in Space Review from Creative Madness Mama

Fans of Marley, Curious George, and Paddington REJOICE! I Am Otter is adorable in an Alvin and the Chimpmunks and the characters mentioned above sort of way. I believe this book is a debut for 2014, but not entirely new as “old Otter stories” are found in a plethora on Sam Garton’s website and blog: I Am Otter: The Unheard Ramblings of a Domestic Otter. The website is highly amusing and I highly recommend a visit. This book is adorable, already said that, right. Otter is unmistakably mischievous, yet child-like innocent as beloved characters often may be found. While I truly think Otter needs a lesson in spelling… her first book of antics make me delighted to meet her. I look forward to more I Am Otter and her friendly Teddy. Love I Am Otter! I Am Otter in Space is also adorable (it’s that word again…) and sooo imaginative! I Am Otter is now a favorite. . .

Continue reading

Coming Soon from the Pen (short), Please Welcome Historical Author Jill Stengl!

Today is the last day of historical author Jill Stengl’s launch blog tour for her newest release, “Until that Distant Day”. Please stop by and see a short version of a Coming Soon from the Pen post where she answers my question, “What was the first book you really remember reading that stuck with you and gave you a love for books?”

You might also find a treat for yourself… *wink*

Continue reading

The Fairy Bell Sisters #5: Sylva and the Lost Treasure in stores now!

In this fifth book in the Fairy Bell Sisters series—a magical, utterly charming fairy series about Tinker Bell’s little sisters and their adventures on Sheepskerry Island—Sylva Bell and Poppy Flower learn the true meaning of friendship.

Continue reading

Amelia Bedelia Unleashed (Chapter Book, #2)

Amelia Bedelia makes her chapter book debut! In Amelia Bedelia Unleashed, the second book in the new chapter book series, young Amelia Bedelia goes to the dogs and discovers why they are man’s (and girl’s) best friends. With Amelia Bedelia anything can happen, and it usually does. Short, fast-paced chapters, tons of friends and funny situations, and black-and-white illustrations by Lynne Avril on every page make the Amelia Bedelia chapter books an ideal choice for readers of the Ivy and Bean, Magic Tree House, and Judy Moody books.

Continue reading

Fancy Nancy: Nancy Clancy, Super Sleuth is NOW IN PAPERBACK!

Now available in paperback! This review was originally posted featuring the hardcover July 2012. In her chapter book debut, Nancy Clancy must find the culprit when a prized possession goes missing at school.

Fancy Nancy is growing up-she’s now appearing in her first ever chapter book!

Continue reading

Mia and the Daisy Dance by Robin Farley (I Can Read!)

Mia and the Daisy Dance by Robin Farley Illustrated by Olga Ivanov, Aleksey Ivanov Level My First I Can Read! – Ballet Genre: Juvenile Fiction / Readers Pages: 32 Jacketed Hardcover Date Published: April 3, 2012 Publisher: HarperCollins Mia links arms with a friend for a special spring dance in her third I Can Read book. Mia’s dance class is putting on their first show! Each dancer will perform her own special part, and Mia can’t wait to practice. The dance is going to be perfect! But when Mia’s friend Anna leaves class early without learning her part, Mia begins to worry. Will Anna be able to dance at the show? Together, Mia and Anna learn that sometimes it’s not about the end result, but the fun of learning with a friend that’s important. Now as a fan, I look forward to read about Mia and her dance class again.. . .

Continue reading

Mia and the Big Sister Ballet by Robin Farley (I Can Read!)

When Mia grows up, she wants to be just like her big sister, Ava!

Ava is a ballerina in a real show, and Mia’s class is taking a trip to visit her. Mia and her friends watch Ava dance in the ballet, and then Ava shows them how to do some new moves. Mia tries to dance her best so that Ava will watch, but Ava is too busy helping Mia’s friends to notice. How can Mia show her big sister what a great ballerina she is?

Mia and the Big Sister Ballet is Mia’s fourth My First I Can Read book, perfect for all beginning readers and aspiring ballerinas everywhere.

Continue reading

Amelia Bedelia Cub Reporter (I Can Read!)

Stop the presses! Amelia Bedelia volunteers at a school newspaper and helps the students slug copy, create briefs, and determine if their stories pass the cereal test in this classic Amelia Bedelia I Can Read Level 2 adventure.

Continue reading

Amelia Bedelia’s First Apple Pie

Ever wonder what Amelia Bedelia was like as a child? Amelia Bedelia, the housekeeper for the Rogers family, has been entertaining generations of readers since 1963. Now she is starring in her own full-size picture book series…here as a little girl baking her first apple pie!

As an adult, Amelia Bedelia charms one and all with her delicious cakes and pies. But how did everyone’s favorite housekeeper get her culinary education? For the first time, fans can join Amelia Bedelia as a child as she bakes her very first apple pie. Herman Parish-together with Lynne Avril’s the adorably fresh art-brings the humor and fun of Amelia Bedelia, whose beginning reader books have sold more than 23 million copies, to a whole new level in this best-selling picture book series. A wonderful book for apple-picking season and all year round, Amelia Bedelia’s First Apple Pie will have readers hungry for more.

Continue reading

Pinkalicious: Purpledoodles by Victoria Kann

Pinkalicious: Purpledoodles by Victoria Kann Genre: Children’s Coloring and Activity Book Ages 3-103 Pages: 128 Paperback 8 1/4 x 11 Date Published: June 12, 2012 Publisher: HarperFestival, a division of HarperCollins Children’s Get ready, get set, use your pinkermagination! Drawing and coloring is doodlicious! Over 100 pages of purplicious pictures for you to complete Includes coloring, drawing, and activities to inspire creativity Perfect for Pinkalicious fans of all ages Oooh!! We are just starting to get to know Pinkalicious and her adventures and now to find activity books like this make me want to squeal. Pinkalicious: Purpledoodles is a coloring and activity book that is written in all purple lines (like Harold and the Purple Crayon shade…). Every page has something to color, doodles to finish and even puzzles, word searches, blank pages for your own art and more. The guide says ages 3-103 and I agree that anyone could. . .

Continue reading

Harold and the Purple Crayon

One evening Harold decided to go for a walk in the moonlight. But there wasn’t any moon, and Harold needed a moon for a walk in the moonlight. Fortunately, he had brought his purple crayon. So he drew a moon. He also needed something to walk on. So he drew a path…

And thus begins one of the most imaginative and enchanting adventures in all of children’s books. The creative concept behind this beloved story has intrigued children and kept them absorbed for generations, as page by page unfolds the dramatic and clever adventures of Harold and his purple crayon.

Continue reading

Shaun the Sheep: Sheer Madness

Sheep and Pigs and Aliens, oh my! It’s madness in the meadow with Shaun the Sheep and his flock of mischievous merrymakers! Shaun expertly stops the pigs from running amuck and turning the farm into a porky paradise. He amuses his friends when he falls head over hoof for a beautiful stranger and demonstrates what happens when curiosity gets the sheep after a hot air balloon lands and causes mayhem in the meadow… From the farm, to outer space and everywhere in between, Shaun and his barnyard buddies know how to have a woolly good time!

Continue reading