• The Mystery of History

Love’s Sweet Beginning (Sisters at Heart, #3) by Ann Shorey

What will it take for a once-privileged young woman to make her way in the world?

It isn’t Cassie Haddon’s fault that she has reached the age of twenty-five without possessing any useful skills. Until the War Between the States, she always had servants. Since then, she and her mother have been forced to rely on family to care for them. But now the well of human kindness has run dry–and Cassie must find work to support them.

Unfortunately, leaving the past behind is easier said than done, and Cassie must summon all of her courage and wits to convince local restaurateur and grocer Jacob West that she’s exactly what his business needs.

With her signature sweet romance, Ann Shorey weaves a tale of two people from different backgrounds finding common ground and the hope of a bright future together.

Continue reading

Where Wildflower’s Bloom by Ann Shorey

How far will she go to follow her dreams?

The Civil War stole a father and brother from Faith Lindberg–as well as Royal Baxter, the man she wanted to marry. With only her grandfather left, she dreams of leaving Noble Springs, Missouri, and traveling west to Oregon to start a new life, away from the memories that haunt her. But first she must convince her grandfather to sell the family’s mercantile and leave a town their family has called home for generations.

When Royal Baxter suddenly returns, Faith allows herself to hope that she and Royal will finally wed. But does he truly love her? Or will another man claim her heart?

Continue reading

The Dawn of a Dream by Ann Shorey (Home in Beldon Grove 3)

Her dream is within her grasp–but can she leave her past behind?

Luellen O’Connell is stunned when her husband of just one month tells her he is leaving–and his reason devastates her. Deeply wounded by his betrayal, Luellen decides to follow her dream to become a teacher, a desire she had set aside when she married. But can she truly hide her past? Or will it destroy her ambitions forever?

A moving story of tenacity and perseverance, The Dawn of a Dream will inspire you to discover and follow your own dreams.

Continue reading

Ann Shorey New Series Announcement!

Are you on the newsletter mailing list for author Ann Shorey? If not you should be! I was thrilled to read about an upcoming joint book signing with author Bonnie Leon and a New Series Announcement! Here’s what she said… New Series Announcement! Now for a tidbit of exciting news: I just signed a contract with Revell for three more books. This series will be set in Missouri right after the end of the Civil War (the photo is one I took of a Civil War era stable during a recent research trip) and has the working title: “Sisters of the Heart.” Each book will feature a different heroine, but their lives will intertwine through the bonds of friendship. The release date for the first book, tentatively titled Where Bright Flowers Bloom, is TBA, so watch the News page on my web site for updates (and maybe a sneak peek. . .

Continue reading

The Promise of Morning by Ann Shorey — Review

New historical romance set on the Illinois frontier in 1840s: When loss breaks her heart, can she find the courage to go on? The Promise of Morning from Ann Shorey takes readers to Beldon Grove on the Illinois frontier in the 1840s. Life isn’t easy here. For Ellie Craig, the graves of her three infant children make it unbearably lonely, despite the love of her husband Matthew. When she uncovers a family secret that suggests she may not be as alone as she thought, Ellie is determined to find the truth.Meanwhile, Matthew Craig faces controversy in the church he pastors when a man arrives in town claiming to be both a minister and the son of the town’s founder. Will Matthew find the courage to reclaim his church? Or will he return to itinerant preaching, leaving Ellie even more alone than before?Book 2 in the At Home in Beldon Grove. . .

Continue reading

The Edge of Light by Ann Shorey — Review

The Edge of Light by Ann Shorey It is the summer of 1838 in St. Lawrenceville, Missouri, and Molly McGarvie’s life is about to change forever. When her beloved Samuel succumbs to cholera, Molly is heartbroken but determined to take care of herself and her children. But when Samuel’s unscrupulous brother takes over the family business and leaves Molly to fend for herself, she knows she must head out on her own. It is a dangerous journey and Molly has to leave her old life behind. Somehow she must find a way to make a living, keep her family together, and fend off some over-eager suitors. Book one in the At Home in Beldon Grove series, The Edge of Light will captivate readers with the true-to-life emotions of one woman’s struggle to survive.  My rating: 3 of 5 stars Much in the same way as Siri Mitchell write Regency novels. . .

Continue reading