It’s an Orange Aardvark! by Michael Hall {Review}

It's an ORange Aardvark!

*This post has been updated on February 4, 2016 with my new format, with the Ultimate Book Blogger Plugin.* Cat Tale was my introduction to Michael Hall and I have been entertained by him since in It’s an Orange Aardvark! and no doubt I will fully enjoy Red: A Crayon’s Story. It’s an Orange Aardvark! is silly and fun.

Continue reading

Colors for Zena by Monica Wellington {Review}

Colors for Zena by Monica Wellington

*My original post seems to have disappeared, but this is too good of a resource that I recommend to not possibly post again. This book could not have arrived at a better time (August 2013) as we are discussing primary and secondary colors this week in Memoria Press Kindergarten. Absolutely this fabulous color picture book is being written in my lesson plans as a resource for future years. Monica’s images are fun and lovely for viewing by little artists. The introduction of a color and the return to it gives more interaction than a typical color book would with just a label per page. Then the animals of color add personality and a feast for the imagination. I bet the kid’s will be dreaming in color after reading this one. The only thing I could wish for would be printable coloring pages to go along as an activity with the. . .

Continue reading

Red: A Crayon’s Story by Michael Hall {Review}

A blue crayon mistakenly labeled “red” suffers an identity crisis in the new picture book by the New York Times–bestselling creator of My Heart Is Like a Zoo and It’s an Orange Aardvark! This funny, heartwarming, colorful picture book about finding the courage to be true to your inner self can be read on multiple levels, and it offers something for everyone! Will appeal to fans of Lois Ehlert, Eric Carle, and The Day the Crayons Quit.

Continue reading

Monsters Love Colors by Mike Austin

Cavorting monsters who scribble scribble come up with color combinations that are sure to dazzle.

Different-colored monsters happily howl, growl, and roar for more as they mix and match primary colors to make new shades and hues. While everyone might know that yellow and blue make green, it has never been created in such an unusual and celebratory way! In this wild and colorful romp, small gray monsters morph into big, colorful ones as the book progresses. Never has color been presented in such enthusiastic and exuberant style. Never have monsters been so creative and appealing.

Continue reading

Happy Easter Curious George

Happy Easter, Curious George is a winning holiday story based on H. A. and Margret Rey’s popular primate and painted in the original watercolor and charcoal style. One fine Easter morning, George and the man with the yellow hat head to the park. George can’t help but join in the fun when he sees children dyeing Easter eggs . . . but what’s that man doing with their prized creations? Each hardcover gift book comes with glittery egg-decorating stickers!

Continue reading

Richard Scarry’s Colors by Richard Scarry

With art by Richard Scarry, you know this is going to be more than your average color concept book: it educates and entertains too! Bright and fun to look at, it offers plenty of amusement and action on every page. And as they’re enjoying the lively pictures, toddlers will learn some simple color basics in the most delightful way.

Continue reading