Who are, or rather, what is Frontier Girls?

When I was a very young elementary school student, I was a Daisy, a Girls Scouts Daisy. My next door neighbor went the full gambit of Girls Scouts I believe. Yet before I got too involved the Troop was disbanded (long story) and my scouting days were over. When I was in the later years of elementary school I participating in something of an afterschool program at a local church that was named something along the lines of Marvelous Mondays or Terrific Tuesdays or some such. We memorized creeds, prayers, and scripture and received pins for our prize as well as pride. I remember adoring those pins and that sash. In my later high school years, I knew a boy who was in a Venturing Crew. I was very interested in joining, but then I was too far away and headed off to college soon anyhow… and thus I was. . .

Continue reading

Red: A Crayon’s Story by Michael Hall {Review}

A blue crayon mistakenly labeled “red” suffers an identity crisis in the new picture book by the New York Times–bestselling creator of My Heart Is Like a Zoo and It’s an Orange Aardvark! This funny, heartwarming, colorful picture book about finding the courage to be true to your inner self can be read on multiple levels, and it offers something for everyone! Will appeal to fans of Lois Ehlert, Eric Carle, and The Day the Crayons Quit.

Continue reading

Finding Spring by Carin Berger

Instead of hibernating as he should, a little bear cub goes out in search of spring—and he thinks he’s found it! Gloriously illustrated with cut-paper collages, Carin Berger’s stunning picture book celebrates the changing of the seasons.

Continue reading

PreK3 Curriculum for 2014-2015

Having just finished drafting my post for the K5 Curriculum (even if it is six months late!) I figured perhaps I should also write a post for our PreK3 Curriculum this year as well. As my second child is entering into the world of academia I am learning some important lessons. While AppleBlossom was ready to jump and run early on and loves workbooks and “doing school” things… her sister is, well… a free spirit. OrangeBlossom should have been called PinkBlossom. If it is not pink, princess, or fairy related she’s not interested. All life must involved things that are pretty, beautiful, in skirts and sparkily is a plus. Sitting to “do school”, so not her thing. She will beg for school for a minute or two, and then flit here and there and yonder. OrangeBlossom is my here, there and yonder child at three years old. Who know what the. . .

Continue reading

Practice, practice, practice! and it’s fun!! (with IXL!)

What an incredible year this has been for reviews, I’ve been especially pleased in finding new curriculum ideas for our homeschooling life. Some have been wonderful and will be new staples in our regimen, while others have been neat and we might continue if a budget allows. One program we have been blessed to discover and experience for the last several weeks that will definitely be a program on my go-list is IXL ~ (http://www.IXL.com/). In the past, I’ve seen sales for IXL (such as through the co-op) and I’ve seen their ads and banners on blog sidebars, but I never really knew what it was about…  Through the blessing of the TOS Homeschool Review Crew, I have been blessed to gain access to both the IXL Math and IXL Language Arts for one year with an account for both of my students. I’ve been using this with AppleBlossom (age 5 years, 3.5 months). . .

Continue reading

K5 and PreK3 Curriculum for Fall 2014 (Verbose Post)

AppleBlossom’s K5 and OrangeBlossom’s PreK 3 Fall 2014 Curriculum (with a newborn Almond Blossom in the mix):   The LONG Post The Short Post, and Picture Post to come… *Before I get started. This is a conversational post. There are no affiliate links in the text, however I do have accounts and would gladly share them if you’re interested. And/or if there is something I mention and you want to know where to find it or more information, I’d gladly talk your internet ear off about any of this, here below.* *grin* Continuing for AppleBlossom (as mentioned in the Previous Curriculum page) Memoria Press Curriculum with Enrichment (substituting EPS Primary Phonics Readers Sets with Bob Books). We have finished from our K4 previous plans: Memoria Press Kindergarten Lesson Plans, Memoria Press Kindergarten Enrichment Guide, Memoria Press First Start Reading, Bob Books Beginning Readers, American Language Society Fun in the Sun,. . .

Continue reading

Kinder Cottage Publishing: Peter Rabbit Books

Creative Madness Mama was sent two books in the Peter Rabbit series for review, I chose to go with Christmas and Easter as I’ve never read a Peter Rabbit story with these topics. The concept and desire of Kinder Cottage is delightful and their job is well done. Kinder Cottage has a wonderful idea and delivers it in a great little package. The quality is wonderful and the preservation of something for a new generation is a delightful concept. I do hope they will continue to publish more and more vintage titles in the future. As is the case with all publishers, I’m not going to like every single book I come across and read, but there is a good plethora of ones that I will!

Continue reading

Favorite Curriculum Choices – How to answer that???

So here I was, minding my own business and updating my “Previous Curricula” page. Then I was drafting out a “plan” post for the summer and fall to come this year when I stumbled upon the calendar for the TOS Crew where I had the option to participate in a blog carnival with the theme of sharing my Favorite Curriculum Choices. How appropriate that my mind is already here!? I figure that I could just think back on this last year and share my favorite choices, but that seems unfair especially since I’m considering my earlier and past choices as my younger daughter gets closer to truly starting “school”. So I figure I’ll give you levels and my choices within. Also if you’re curious, you might want to step back and read my Wrapping Up the End of the Homeschool Year (2013-2014) post as well for more details. Link backs:. . .

Continue reading

Wrapping Up the End of the Homeschool Year (2013-2014 Edition)

Can you believe it is already that time of year, to wrap up your school studies? If you are using a standard school year it is that time. Although if you use a calendar year, then it’s the time to pep up as you’re almost halfway there! Or if you school year-round you might be changing topics, taking a hiatus, or re-energizing to keep on trekking. Finally, there is another new-to-me option that your family might use in (the name slips my mind at the moment) schedule of 6-9 weeks on, break, on, break, and so on! Generally for us I think we use a school year start, and then naturally fall a bit into a (whatever that last one is called) schedule. However we let life get in the way as well as speed up and slow down as the material and skills lead us. We started the year with. . .

Continue reading

Logic of English: Foundations, Level A Cursive (Science of Reading) {Review}

(This is a long post… I’ve debating breaking it into parts… but oh well.)

Today, I get to share with you a new treasure to our family in our homeschool curriculum and I’m delighted to review this new-to-me program that I definitely want to stick with on further levels in the Logic of English ~ (http://www.LogicofEnglish.com). I was granted the blessing to obtain and use Foundations, Level A as well as a set of reusable resources, and the iOS Doodling Dragons App. I was curious about the curriculum, but had no idea the delight that we were in for on this adventure!
Logic of English Review
The Logic of English: Foundations program is recommended for ages 4 to 7 and is designed to easily be used in schools, homeschool settings, older struggling readers, and English Language Learners. I’m certain it would make a good addition to a co-op setting. The Level A is for the beginning reader and opens the world of reading through basic phonogram knowledge, beginning handwriting skills, short vowel and consonant blends decoding.

Continue reading

Adding Classical Music to your School: Maestro Classics Review

Earlier this week, I mentioned that my first introduction to a great art program was at a homeschool convention. Something else that I discovered at that convention was the concept of educational music CDs from Maestro Classics, which I’m glad to review and share with you today. Through a few choices, I opted to order Casey at the Bat (recommended for all ages) as well as Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel (recommended for ages 4 & up). I came by these choices wanted to enhance our own homeschool studies planned.

Continue reading

ARTistic Pursuits K-3 Vol. 1 Review

Last year (or was it the year before?) when I was blessed to visit a local homeschool conference (there hasn’t been one within three hours since!) I remember my SisterL telling me to check out the ARTistic Pursuits booth. The program has been on my wish list since, and I was thus delighted to gain the opportunity to review the Early Elementary K-3, Book 1: Introduction to the Visual Arts (expanded and revised for 2013).

Continue reading